top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureWhitney Grinnage

NMAAHC

Updated: 7 days ago

things moved a lot slower down there

it was somber, solemn, slower

like I was wading through the ships they were on


someone I know said it was because

she could feel the ancestors sizzling underneath

I think they certainly were


for me, though

it was not their presence

but the atmosphere their presence provoked


the power that they hold

to transform a space

from a relic

into a reality


it was incredible


you could feel them there

you could hear them there

and most importantly

you could see them there


finally.




*this poem is my reaction to visiting the National Museum of African American History and Culture in Washington, DC. The first floor of the museum is an emotional journey through slavery, colonialism, and violence in the 16th, 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page