top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureWhitney Grinnage

harm

Updated: Jul 25, 2022

I think about harm.

What even is harm?

I don’t have a complete definition

but I have begun to think of it

as something that is more than just physical.

It is bodily, emotional, generational, mental, deep.

It is a type of damage

that penetrates someone’s mind, body, spirit, and soul

and all the complicated ways in which they are connected.


I think harm is so complex,

such an impactful thing that the concept itself

carries so much weight to it.

It is heavy in the way no scale will ever be able to weigh.

I imagine it almost as a serum

that seeps its way into the cracks of someone’s personhood

immediately after it is caused.

It is intricate.

It is thick.

And it takes time, effort, accountability, and space

to dissolve it.


Healing is not linear.

But I guess harm isn’t either.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page