top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureWhitney Grinnage

bell sing

Updated: Jul 25, 2022

i had a very emotional reaction to music today

to be honest, i can still feel it now

the notes started, the beat was live

and suddenly I forgot about everything else around


two seconds in and i was blinking back tears

happy ones of course

when the music started and the groups got going

it took everything in me to not get lost in the chorus


it happened anyway, though.

and really, are we surprised?

in theory the answer should be no

but still, i wasn’t expecting these feelings to arise


mm, “feelings” doesn’t do it justice.

to describe whatever reaction I underwent

when my entire chest is lifted from just a little music,

“feeling” is an understatement


it's been a while since i’ve felt this way

since I’ve let music move me

and i have to say I’ve missed this

how music has slowly attached itself to me


i think i sunk in today.

at least that's how i would try describing

the music that pulled me under, surrounded me

and I felt like I was drowning


music is a thing of the soul

at this point it has to be

because “i love music” no longer does justice

to what a simple tune does for me


i think i forgot that music is a gift

a gift meant to be shared

a gift that i have to give and receive.

i think the latter got lost in the last year


but it’s found now thank goodness

i’ve since learned:

something so important to how I move through space

should always cause a “feeling” that always returns

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page